Writing isn’t easy…but it sure is fun…

It irritates me when people think writing is so easy, especially when they’ve never written a creative sentence in their lives. As I continue work on my thesis, and am very close to being done, I’ve been asked why it’s taking me so long to finish. Keep in mind, I’ve only been working on this thesis, a book of short stories, for less than 10 months. A project like this should take a year, at least, and here I am rushing through it to meet the deadline. But friends and family seem to think I’m using this thesis as an excuse to avoid them. They don’t understand the time and commitment it takes to write even one short story, let alone a whole book of them.

Writing is definitely a frustrating process, but a rewarding one. It takes time, patience, and lots of determination. I’ve learned not to take people’s criticisms personally, and not let them rush me. I write because I love it, and feel whole when I do. Nothing makes me happier than creating a new world with a bunch of characters I can see myself falling in love with. It’s not a simple matter of writing sentence after sentence to bring these characters to life; it’s making them seem real, giving the readers a sense of connection with them, and bringing authenticity to both the world and its inhabitants. God did that in seven days, but writers are not God, and this is a process that can take weeks, months, and more often, years. It’s not something that should be rushed.

So the lesson here is, never give up. No matter how frustrated friends, family, and colleagues are, know that writing isn’t easy and it takes time to perfect it. This is something non-writers will never understand. As long as you have the passion for it, nothing else matters. Have fun, don’t stress, and keep writing!

The Accidental Blogger

2 Comments

Filed under Writing on Writing

2 responses to “Writing isn’t easy…but it sure is fun…

  1. It really helps when family and friends are supportive of my writing. I would probably write anyway but it is easier knowing that they support my efforts. Thanks for sharing this post.

  2. If only I had a quarter for each time I came here… Amazing article.

Leave a Reply

