One year and counting…

Today, I received a comment on my first ever blog for The Accidental Blogger. The reader, Herb, wanted to wish me a Happy One Anniversary for my website. I had not been keeping track of how long I’ve been writing this blog, and frankly, I’m shocked that it’s already been one year since I was an MFA student struggling to finish my thesis, a book of short stories.  I’m happy to report, one year later, I have not given up on this blog and continue to use it as a tool for offering inspiration to other writers,  and posting updates on my own projects. While so many people start a blog and give up quickly, I am ecstatic to have passed the one year mark and hope to continue seeing this blog grow.

In honor of my one year as the Accidental Blogger, I am reposting my first blog, title “Let the accidental blogging begin…”

Nowadays, it seems like everyone and their mother has a blog. Blogging has made it easier for people to communicate with each other, or with the world. Everyone has ideas, and blogs allow people to get down those ideas, and share them, or not.  Some may chose their blogs to stay private, or unknown, or anonymous, but the point is to get thoughts down, and to be as honest as possible about them. Blogs often become more than just an easy way to communicate; they become a way to reflect on life or works of art, and I want in on the action.

I’m joining the blogging world a bit late in the game. I never had anything remotely interesting to blog about, and the thought of sharing my writing with the world was terrifying. So why me, and why now? I am in, what my colleague Vanessa Rubino Jubis describes as a ‘writer’s slum.’ As an MFA student, my mind was brimming with ideas, and stories itching to claw their way out of my fragile little mind. I wrote pieces I was immensely proud of, pieces I was shocked were written by me because they were so emotionally charged and entertaining. But once it came time to write my thesis, all the ideas, all the inspiration, all the motivation, were gone. It was as if all the passion and drive I had for writing was sucked out of me by a vacuum cleaner. Just as I was finally able to accept myself as a writer, just when I was comfortable enough to let people know that is what I do, it was all taken from me. How can someone be a writer if they can’t write? I felt like a failure, and I didn’t understand why the passion was gone so suddenly.  I thought perhaps submitting my pieces for publication would be a motivating factor. Most submitted pieces (the better ones anyway) were accepted, and for a moment, I felt like I could shine again. But when I sat down to write, NOTHING! I procrastinated, I delayed, I did everything but write.

It was a friend who convinced me to start blogging so I can share my writing with the world. The fact that she thinks my writing is good enough to share should have been motivation enough, but I didn’t want to start a blog without a concept.  After all, doesn’t every blog need a concept? Well, this evening, something finally sparked in me, and I was desperate to start writing the blog I had been thinking about, and debating about, and dreaming about. My writing brain finally became active, and I felt like I actually had something to say. Perhaps writing down my frustrations could help with my writing. Perhaps I can write about not being able to write, and I can actually write in the process.

I’m sure there are others out there like me. Writers who feel like failures because they want to write, but can’t. Then maybe this blog is for you. Maybe you stumbled upon it by accident, like I started writing it by accident. Sometimes, the best writing can be the ones that are unplanned. So let the accidental blogging begin, and hopefully some intentional ideas will spark.

As my former writing professor would say, “Write on!” Until next time…

The Accidental Blogger

1 Comment

Filed under Just for fun

One response to “One year and counting…

  1. lonelyphoenix

    Happy writing… 🙂

Leave a Reply

